A Commencement Address

I remember when I was your age I’d look at people of my parents’ generation and wonder how on earth they managed to do it. They kept the wolf from the door. They raised children. They acquired houses and automobiles and electric refrigerators and kept them more or less in repair. They held down jobs and got their taxes paid. Generally speaking they seemed to be in charge of their lives and independent and resourceful and able to cope with reality in ways that I couldn’t believe I’d ever be capable of myself even if I had a hundred years to work at it.

— Frederick Buechner, from “The Emerald City: A Commencement Address” in The Clown in the Belfry: Writings on Faith and Fiction.

Leave a Reply

