Endless Calamities

I walk over the green hillsides, I lie down on the harsh, sun-
flavored blades and bundles of grass; the grass cares nothing
about me, it doesn’t want anything from me, it rises to its
own purpose, and sweetly, following the single holy dictum:
to be itself, to let the sky be the sky, to let a young girl be a
young girl freely–to let a middle-aged woman be, comfort-
ably, a middle-aged woman.

Those bloody sharps and flats–those endless calamities of
the personal past. Bah! I disown them from the rest of my
life, in which I mean to rest.

–Mary Oliver, Grass

Leave a Reply

